IceCaps Season Opening Roster and Notes

Update, October 9th 2014, 3:54 p.m. NST

The IceCaps have announced the signing of three forwards:

  • Ben Walker and Brandon MacLean have been signed to PTO’s. They were previously on PTO’s as well.
  • Nicholas Blanchard has been signed to a PTO.

The IceCaps now have 26 players on their roster. The lineups and roster are updated and are below.

Opening Night Roster including lines (via Chris Ballard @cgballardsports):

Goaltenders (3)

Peter Budaj, Connor Hellebuyck, Jussi Olkinuora

Defence (8)

Ben Chiarot – Brenden Kichton

Julien Melchiori – Keaton Ellerby

Will O’Neill – Julien Brouillette

Jordan Hill – Kris Fredheim “A”

Forwards (15)

Carl Klingberg – John Albert “A” – JC Lipon

Jason Jaffray “C” – Kyle MacKinnon – Scott Kosmachuk

Patrick Holland – Ryan Olsen – Blair Riley

Ben Walker (PTO) / Brandon MacLean (PTO)- Chase Balisy – Austen Brassard

*Eric O’Dell, Nicholas Blanchard (PTO) – both were not in St. John’s for the IceCaps last practice. New lines to come, stay tuned.      IceCaps lines updated.

Update, October 9th 2014, 3 p.m. NST

  • F Eric O’Dell, G Peter Budaj, D Ben Chiarot, and D Keaton Ellerby have all cleared waivers and have joined the IceCaps.
  • CAPTAINCY: Jason Jaffray was named team captain whilst John Albert and Kris Fredheim were named assistant captains.
  • Defenceman Ralfs Freibergs was assigned to the Ontario Reign of the new-look ECHL.
  • Forwards Robert Czarnik and Zach Bell, as well as defenceman Mike Cornell, were all released from their PTO’s.

Here is the lineup from the IceCaps final pre-season game vs. Hamilton yesterday, heading into the regular season:


Connor Hellebuyck, Jussi Olkinuora


Julien Melchiori – Kris Fredheim

Brenden Kichton – Jordan Hill

Will O’Neill – Julien Brouillette


JC Lipon – John Albert – Carl Klingberg

Chase Balisy -Jason Jaffray -Scott Kosmachuk

Ben Walker (PTO) – Ryan Olsen – Patrick Holland

Blair Riley – Kyle MacKinnon – Austen Brassard

Scratched…Forwards Zach Bell (PTO), Robert Czarnik (PTO), and Brandon MacLean (PTO)…Defencemen Mike Cornell (PTO) and Ralfs Freibergs.


  • St. John’s native (D) Chris Owens was released from his PTO
  • (F) Jean Dupuy was also released from his PTO
  • Peter Budaj is pending waivers  and may be assigned to the IceCaps
  • Defencemen Ben Chiarot and Keaton Ellerby were assigned to St. John’s today

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s